Faculty Award for Educational Leadership in Doctoral Education


2018 GADE Award for Educational Leadership in Doctoral Education

Michalle Mor Barak, PhD.

USC Suzanne Dworak-Peck School of Social Work


2017 GADE Award for Educational Leadership in Doctoral Education

Beverly Black, PhD

University of Texas at Arlington


2016 GADE Award for Educational Leadership in Doctoral Education

(Read the 2016 GADE awardees comments at the CSWE Doctoral Student Breakfast held on Nov. 4, 2016)



Christopher Petr MSW, PhD

University of Kansas



Paula Nurius, PhD

University of Washington

Paula Nurius, PhD 

Dr. Paula Nurius, Grace Beals-Ferguson Scholar, Professor, and Associate Dean at the University of Washington School of Social Work brings a long history of doctoral teaching, mentoring, program directorship, and PI of NIH-funded doctoral training in prevention science, attentive to translational and transdisciplinary research preparation. Leadership roles include vice-presidency with GADE and with SSWR, research capacity building presentations, and emerging scholar resource development. She is active within her university’s Graduate School in advancing innovative models of interdisciplinary and team science training. Her research on stress, trauma, and violence focuses on at-risk populations, life course development, prevention, and health and functioning resilience. This work integrates structural, social psychological, and physiological theoretical foundations through which stress is experienced and becomes embodied, carrying lifespan effects. Dr. Nurius received her joint doctorate in social work and psychology from the University of Michigan where she also received her MA in psychology. She received her MSW from the University of Hawaii. During her graduate training she was awarded an NIMH traineeship award and the Rackham Predoctoral Fellowship and Dissertation Grant Awards. She is an elected fellow of the American Academy of Social Work and Social Welfare and of the Society for Social Work & Research.

Christopher Petr, PhD

Dr. Chris Petr earned MSW and PhD degrees at the University of Kansas, Lawrence, where he has been a faculty member since 1988. Prior to this academic appointment, he was a child and family clinical social worker at the Bert Nash Mental Health Center in Lawrence, Kansas, and a medical social worker at the Frontier Nursing Service in Hyden, Kentucky. His scholarship and teaching have focused on the areas of social work with children and families, multidimensional evidence based practice, and doctoral education. He was fortunate to have been present at the “birth” of the Strengths Perspective at KU, and to have witnessed its growth and its impact on social work over the last 25-30 years. He recently completed an eight year term as PhD Program Director at KU, which included serving for three years on the GADE Steering Committee, co-chairing (with Donna Harrington) GADE’s Task Force on PhD Quality Guidelines, and hosting the GADE 2015 Annual Conference at KU.


2019 GADE Award for Educational Leadership in Doctoral Education 

The GADE Award for Educational Leadership in Doctoral Education is given to a current or former faculty member at a GADE member organization who has made significant contributions to advancing doctoral education in the field of social work. Faculty distinguished by this award display a strong commitment to doctoral education and a demonstrated record of advancing doctoral education at the national or international level. 

The winner of the GADE Award for Educational Leadership in Doctoral Education will be provided a certificate and a $1,000 award at the Doctoral Student Award Breakfast held at the annual CSWE APM Conference in Denver, CO (October 24-27, 2019). GADE is unable to pay for CSWE membership fees, travel costs or conference registration. 

Group for the Advancement of Doctoral Education in Social Work (GADE) 

The Group for the Advancement of Doctoral Education in Social Work (GADE) was established over 25 years ago to provide a forum for sharing ideas and strategies among doctoral programs in social work, and for strengthening efforts at enhancing doctoral education. The membership, comprised of directors of established social work and social welfare doctoral programs located in accredited universities, has established two awards for faculty for educational leadership and mentoring. The educational leadership award reflects our recognition of faculty who have made great efforts to improve doctoral education in social work. 

Award Criteria:   
  • Strong commitment to doctoral education in social work 
  • Significant contributions to doctoral education in social work at the national or international level through policy or program development, research or training on social work doctoral education, development and/or promotion of innovative models of doctoral education, or other activities that have had demonstrable impact 
  • History of active participation in efforts to improve social work doctoral education

Eligibility Criteria: The nominee must be or have previously been a faculty member at a GADE member organization

Nomination Procedures 

Nominations Open: March 1, 2019

Deadline for Nomination: June 15, 2019

Self-nominations are NOT appropriate for this award. 

Nomination to Include: 

  • Name of the nominee Contact information for the nominee (i.e., phone and e-mail address) 
  • Current position of the nominee
The nomination packet must include the following
  • A letter of nomination from a Dean/Director, PhD Program Director or faculty member at a current GADE member school outlining how the nominee meets the Award Criteria (signed pdf) 
  • CV of awardee 
  • One-page summary of nominee’s activities in advancing doctoral education in social work written by nominee The nomination may also include: Up to 2 letters of support by administrators, faculty, students or other social work professionals Abstracts of publications
The nomination may also include: 
  • Up to 2 letters of support by administrators, faculty, students or other social work professionals 
  • Abstracts of publications 

Files must be submitted electronically via e-mail attachment 

Submission: Nominations should be submitted to the GADE Award Subcommittee at: 

The email Subject Line should read: 2019 Educational Leadership Award 

 DEADLINE: June 15, 2019  

Application Processing: The GADE Award Subcommittee will review all nominations. Nominees will be informed of the final decision on or before August 15, 2019.